top of page

9 Songs of Making My Way toward "Us"


You never know what the universe brings... Until you realize, one day...that everything happens for reason. Consist of two chapters, Before I met you & I finally find you. Here is the full story of us, from nothing to something, from you & me to us.

***

Before I Met You

It's crazy to believe what the universe brings us. There were a million opportunities to meet him 10 years ago, but we end up knowing each other last year. There must be a reason why the past holds us back and let us wait for the right moment. So, here it is the story when everything hasn't yet started. The story that I called "Before I met you".

2007

A new teen is in the town! I went to the same middle school as Syaif.

Was it the time for the lovely couple to "meet"? or was it too early?

We went to the same high school, but we never really met. I was highly engaged with my best classmates, ibc9k. While Syaif was actively unleashing his leadership potential as a leader in DKM SMPN 5 Bandung

2010

Again, we both went to the same school, and accidentally (huft) we were somehow in the same student organization. The universe is really toying with us if this is not the time to meet.

But again, Not the time dude.

2013

NO NO NO, we will never be together. Syaif already got a chance to pursue his finance degree a thousand miles away from home. On the other side, I pursued my degree by taking engineering management in my hometown. There is no way we could ever meet again.

2017

But who knows what the future holds? In a very rare & random case, Syaif called me for business. We had virtual business with me as his subordinate. The long-distance colleague relationship (read= Boston vs Bandung's time difference) was killing us. There is no chance we develop any further personal relationships. We only contact each other for money.

The end of 2017

Quarter life crisis opened up everything. I was in the lowest point of myself, in the middle of heartbreaks and failure. Syaif, with all relief after heartbreaks moment, was trying to build his future career after going back from U.S. Long story short, our sorrow and emptiness become the beginning of everything. Yes, we met again, and this time, we truly "met".

***

I Finally Found You

It's true that some people feel familiar the moment you meet them as if your soul met many years ago. And out of the blue, they will suddenly run up to you and whisper "I've been waiting for you for so long". Here is the next story that I called "I finally found you", a story covered in 9 love songs that sum up how I made my way toward us.

1. Haven't Met You Yet

I'm not surprised Not everything lasts I've broken my heart so many times I've stopped keepin' track.

I tried so very hard not to lose it I came up with a million excuses I thought I thought of every possibility

And I know someday that it'll all turn up You'll make me work so we can work to work it out And I promise you kid that I'll give so much more than I get yeah I just haven't met you yet

Oh I might have to wait I'll never give up I guess it's half timing and the other half's luck Wherever you are Whenever it's right You'll come out of nowhere and into my life This was the moment when everything begins, desperation met hope. A moment when we realized that there always be something that we have to let go, simply because it's not meant to be for us no matter how hard we tried to keep it. Lays deep inside my heart, I believe the universe will bring us to someone that was meant to be for us. "Wherever you are, whenever it's right, you will come out of nowhere and into my life".

2. A Lovely Night

Some other girl and guy

Would love this swirling sky

But there's only you and I

And we've got no shot

This could never be

You're not the type for me

Really?

And there's not a spark in sight

What a waste of a lovely night

We bumped into each other in a rare moment. A moment that perfectly made for a couple. We felt familiar with each other at the first time we talked. He broke my wall, listened to all my deepest secret. As if he told me that "Hey, it's okay, you have me". It was weird, yet emotional, reminding the fact that we never thought of being together. There might be sparks between us, but as a friend did, we ignored it.

3.Red

Loving him is like driving a new Maserati down a dead-end street

Faster than the wind, passionate as sin ending so suddenly

Loving him is like trying to change your mind once you're already flying through the free fall

Like the colors in autumn, so bright just before they lose it all

Losing him was blue like I'd never known Missing him was dark grey all alone Forgetting him was like trying to know somebody you never met But loving him was red Loving him was red

Touching him was like realizing all you ever wanted was right there in front of you Memorizing him was as easy as knowing all the words to your old favorite song Fighting with him was like trying to solve a crossword and realizing there's no right answer Regretting him was like wishing you never found out that love could be that strong

A very emotional feeling came torturing us. The moment you realized that someone you're looking for was right in front of you, but you knew you can't be together. We realized that many things holding us back, and loving each other simply seems impossible. We're afraid that all this love situation were just a temporary feeling. We're very passionate to fall for each other, but...

4. Rewrite the Stars

man:

You know I want you It's not a secret I try to hide I know you want me So don't keep saying our hands are tied You claim it's not in the cards Fate is pulling you miles away And out of reach from me But you're here in my heart So who can stop me if I decide That you're my destiny?

What if we rewrite the stars? Say you were made to be mine Nothing could keep us apart You'd be the one I was meant to find It's up to you, and it's up to me No one can say what we get to be So why don't we rewrite the stars? Maybe the world could be ours Tonight

girl:

You think it's easy You think I don't want to run to you But there are mountains And there are doors that we can't walk through I know you're wondering why Because we're able to be Just you and me Within these walls But when we go outside You're going to wake up and see that it was hopeless after all

No one can rewrite the stars How can you say you'll be mine? Everything keeps us apart And I'm not the one you were meant to find It's not up to you It's not up to me When everyone tells us what we can be How can we rewrite the stars? Say that the world can be ours Tonight

We were running out of time. A moment we realized that we couldn't deny our feelings anymore. We have to decide between moving forward or running away. We want to run away, considering all the things that hold us back, but our feeling grows stronger until we can't think of running away. Is it possible to ignore all impossibilities? Because a chance to meet someone like you is hard to find. How if we rewrite the stars together, so you could be mine?

5. Can't Help Falling in Love with You

Wise men say only fools rush in But I can't help falling in love with you Shall I stay? Would it be a sin If I can't help falling in love with you?

Like a river flows surely to the sea Darling so it goes Some things are meant to be Take my hand, take my whole life too For I can't help falling in love with you

January 21, 2018. A moment when he finally broke the impossibilities. Yes, he said the magic word. More than just "do you want to be my girl?", he proposed me right a way to be his life choice. Speechless, breathless, I didn't know what to say and what to feel. "What did he think of? With all impossibilities, why he can be so sure with his choice right now" I was questioning him in my mind. Then, he took my hands and said "I've been thinking this decision in the past several weeks. I did think it's impossible just like you did, but I believe I will never get a chance to find someone like you. This is now or never."

6.Best Part

You're the coffee that I need in the morning You're my sunshine in the rain when it's pouring Won't you give yourself to me Give it all, oh

I just wanna see I just wanna see how beautiful you are You know that I see it I know you're a star Where you go I follow No matter how far If life is a movie Oh you're the best part

With all consideration and prayer, we gave it a try. Since then, we started planning our long-term relationship while getting knowing each other. Our feelings grew stronger. We're standing side by side to each other, everywhere, every time. No matter how sad and happy our feeling was, we always had each other. Food date, movie marathon, sad moment, we enjoyed it all together. In this moment, our quote of the day would always be "If life is a movie, you're the best part".

7. How Deep is Your Love

I believe in you You know the door to my very soul You're the light in my deepest, darkest hour You're my savior when I fall And you may not think I care for you When you know down inside that I really do And it's me you need to show

How deep is your love, how deep is your love How deep is your love? I really mean to learn

Just like you know, every relationship has its ups and downs. We've been through that moment. After several experiences from yourself, friends, and family, it's human to be afraid that everything will fail just like the previous one. There are times when my fear covers all good, keeping me away from the facts. So, I tried to keep calm, saw thoroughly what in front of me, and listened to what I feel. In the moment of doubt, God tries to tell you the answer. And the best way to figure it out is being honest with yourself. Listen to your inner voice, and ask "Is he the one for me?"

8. Perfect

Well I found a woman, stronger than anyone I know

She shares my dreams, I hope that someday I'll share her home

I found a love, to carry more than just my secrets

To carry love, to carry children of our own

We are still kids, but we're so in love

Fighting against all odds

I know we'll be alright this time

Darling, just hold my hand

Be my girl, I'll be your man

I see my future in your eyes

It's hard to differentiate what to decide between stay or leave, again, the only thing remaining is your inner voice. If you find and believe there is something more to your relationship, hang in tight. Picture your life with your partner. Can you imagine to live with them for 40 and more years ahead? If yes, go for it. If no, then stop. We can't expect to find someone that 100% match with ourselves, or someone that always made us happy all the time. Be realistic, it won't bring you to anyone. The only thing matter is finding someone that can survive and grow with you in any circumstances. He appreciates your strengths while putting up with your weakness, just like the other way around. You don't need everyone to tell you who is the right one for you, you will know if the long last love has arrived. If it means to be, it will mean to be.

9. Marry Your Daughter

Sir, I'm a bit nervous 'Bout being here today Still not real sure what I'm going to say So bare with me please If I take up too much of your time, See in this box is a ring for your oldest She's my everything and all that I know is It would be such a relief if I knew that we were on the same side Very soon I'm hoping that I...

Can marry your daughter And make her my wife I want her to be the only girl that I love for the rest of my life And give her the best of me 'till the day that I die, yeah I'm gonna marry your princess And make her my queen She'll be the most beautiful bride that I've ever seen I can't wait to smile When she walks down the isle On the arm of her father On the day that I marry your daughter

August 18, 2018. With a strong belief, we decide to stand side by side committing a vow to a long-lasting relationship. A guy who was a stranger last year apparently change to be someone means a world to me. I still remember the moment he proposed to me. He said, "I can't promise you to be happy with me, but I promise to give you everything." At that moment, I realized that the future lies ahead might be hard. There might be a storm that hits us to the ground. However, looking at us together, we believe we could survive the storm. We're so lucky. Both of us finally found someone that could live our life to the fullest, support us when the time we need it the most, and pursue our dream. From that day, our real adventure began. Together, we will grow beyond our limits and be on top of the world!

***

Those are 9 love songs that more or less tell a story of Viani & Syaif's journey. It's memorable, exciting, and emotional to recall as everything happened so fast. We're so happy that we decided to give a try to our relationship that bring us to where we are now. These 9 songs, will always be a good reminder to be grateful with compassion and love that we have given to each other.

Thank you for listening! You have reached the end of your playlist. Please go to to the top of the page to restart :)


Commentaires


bottom of page